Instructions for direct export from selected online resources:
Exporting references directly from online resources is generally the recommended way to get references into your library. Exporting references creates a file which can then be opened in Mendeley. In some cases you need to save the file before you can open it. Whether the file will open automatically in Mendeley or not depends on your browser configuration.
If you are using Desktop@UCL you may find that the default application that is set to open particular file types will cause files to open in other reference management packages, e.g. Zotero. There are a number of alternative ways to resolve this:
Ebsco databases include CINAHL Plus and Business Source Elite::
Explore, UCL's library catalogue, is a one-stop service solution for the discovery and delivery of our print and e-resources.
The quickest way to get references from Explore to Mendeley is to use the Mendeley icon button in Explore. This will import references to your Mendeley Web library:
This will import references to your Mendeley Web library. Check that references have imported correctly, with the data in the correct fields.
There is an alternative method to export rerferences to Mendeley Desktop:
For an individual search result:
To import multiple references:
Before carrying out a search
To export multiple records, you need a Google account:
OvidSP databases include MEDLINE, EMBASE and PsycINFO.
Proquest databases include Arts Premium Collection, Humanities Index, Library & Information Science Collection, Proquest Central, Proquest News and Newspapers, Social Science Premium Collection and many more.
Ensure you are in Web of Science Core Collection (the other Web of Science databases cannot be directly exported into Mendeley).
References may also be added to the marked list and then exported. This will give you further options regarding which fields to export
Mendeley is owned by Elsevier. If you find references in ScienceDirect or Scopus. (other Elsevier products) then you can use the built in Export function to easily save references directly to Mendeley.
Some hints and tips on using Mendeley for students working with law resources