EndNote X9 allows you to share your library with anyone using EndNote X7.2 or above. With EndNote X9 you can share your library with up to 100 others. The sharing function enables sharing of and simultaneous access to your entire library including references, PDFs and annotations to PDFs. You can choose whether people with whom you share your library have full Read & Write access or Read Only access.
Note: if sharing an EndNote library, it is advisable for the library owner to make regular back-ups of the library. See Backing up your library.
Sharing relies on EndNote’s ‘Sync’ function to work correctly. You and any others with whom you want to share your library must all have an EndNote online account. Before you can share a library you must ensure it is fully synced with your EndNote online library See Synchronising your Library.
To set up sharing of your library:
To access a library shared by someone else:
It is possible for one user to be given access to multiple shared libraries, but each user can be the owner of only one shared library as each shared library is uniquely connected to an individual email address.
Once a library has been successfully shared, an activity feed will become available through which all members of the group can monitor changes which any other group member makes to the library e.g. addition of new references to the library or annotations to PDFs stored in the library. The activity feed can be accessed by clicking on the Activity Feed icon in the toolbar. The last 500 activities are shown in this feed, with the most recent appearing first.
Do not share or store your EndNote library by using cloud-based storage such as Dropbox or Google Drive as your library may become corrupted.
Be aware that by sharing an EndNote library with full text attachments, you may be in breach of copyright or licensing restrictions. For further information please see UCL Copyright Advice.