Guides and databases: Information Studies : Welcome

Welcome to the Information Studies Subject Guide

This guide has been created to provide students and researchers of Information Studies with information and advice on the resources available in the Library.

The guide also provides support to use the Library's resources effectively, including how-to videos, online chat and details of further training available through Library@Skills.

Use the left hand menu to see how the library can support your learning and research.

New to UCL

If you are new to UCL we have created an Online Induction to help you familiarise with UCL Library Services. Visit the Getting started with UCL Library Services: Online induction page to find out more.

Take a virtual tour of the Science Library

E-books for Information Studies

You can access a wide variety of e-books to support your core module reading, find your module reading list to see what key readings you can access electronically or search on UCL Explore to find more e-books.

Key databases for Information Studies

There are many useful databases for Information Studies. Listed below are some of the key databases for the subject.

Library & Information Science Collection
This collection combines Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA), with full-text for many titles. It covers titles from many different countries and in more than 20 languages.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. LISTA indexes 580 core journals, over 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. Content is also part of Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA).
Library and Information Science Source
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. Includes full text for more than 460 publications and indexing for hundreds of high-quality journals, as well as books, research reports and proceedings.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content.
Inspec (Engineering Village)
Inspec indexes journals and conference proceedings in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, computing, control engineering, manufacturing and production engineering, communications and information technology.

UCL LIBRARY SERVICES

Information Studies

Welcome to the Information Studies Subject Guide

New to UCL

Take a virtual tour of the Science Library

E-books for Information Studies

Key databases for Information Studies

Your Librarian

Quick links