Guides and databases: Information Studies : Databases

Key databases for Information Studies

There are many useful databases for Information Studies. Listed below are some of the key databases for the subject.

Library & Information Science Collection
This collection combines Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA), with full-text for many titles. It covers titles from many different countries and in more than 20 languages.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. LISTA indexes 580 core journals, over 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. Content is also part of Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA).
Library and Information Science Source
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. Includes full text for more than 460 publications and indexing for hundreds of high-quality journals, as well as books, research reports and proceedings.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content.
Inspec (Engineering Village)
Inspec indexes journals and conference proceedings in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, computing, control engineering, manufacturing and production engineering, communications and information technology.

Interdisciplinary databases for Information Studies

Web of Science and SCOPUS are large interdisciplinary databases which include relevant material for Information Studies.

Web of Science
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Web of Science. Defaults to a ‘Core Collection’ search, covering the main Web of Science journals database; select 'All Databases' option from the drop down menu to cross-search all of UCL's subscribed Web of Science products, including Biosis, MEDLINE etc.
SCOPUS
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.

Standards

"Standards are agreed ways of doing something, written down as a set of precise criteria so they can be used as rules, guidelines or definitions." (BSI)

More information on using British Standards Online is available.

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

UCL LIBRARY SERVICES

Information Studies

Key databases for Information Studies

Interdisciplinary databases for Information Studies

Standards

Library Databases

What is a database?