Library guides and databases: Comparative and International Education: Databases

Key Databases for Comparative and International Education

African Journals Online
UCL has access to Open Access titles only. Over 500 peer-reviewed journals from 31 African countries, more than half of the 100 000 plus full text articles on the site are in Open Access journal partners, and are free to download. Contains 35 journals on the subject of Education.
Australian Education Index (Proquest)
Database which indexes documents relating to educational research, policy and practice in Australia.
BoB (Box of Broadcasts)
Streaming service of UK television and radio programmes, specifically designed for use in education. This resource contains a wealth of video and audio content related to international education.
British Education Index (EBSCO)
This database has a focus on research policy and practice in education and training in the UK. However there are a wealth of resources related to international education, including educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs
China Online Journals (Wanfang Data)
China Online Journals (COJ) is a multi-disciplinary resource which includes approx 8,000 journal titles published in mainland China in both Chinese and English. Contains an extensive range of journals related to Education.

Education Magazine Archive 1910-2015
Archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries.
Eldis
Provides links to free and open access resources related to global development policy and practice.

ERIC (EBSCO)
Please note that ERIC will be undergoing a significant overhaul by the 24th April 2025 and new content from some journals will no longer be included. Please see the e-resources blog post for more information. See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. The Education Resource Information Center provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
German Education Portal
The GEI is a German-language database of references in the field of pedagogy/education with links to open access full-text if available. Text in German or English.
IDP Database of Research on International Education
Managed by the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER) this database indexes more than 13,800 books, articles, conference papers and reports on various aspects of international education. Content is from 1990 onwards, a period of major change in education systems around the world and in the trade in educational services.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Key resources within this database include books, papers and statistics produced by the OECD Development Centre and PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment).
Statista
A wide range of statistics and statistical dossiers related to international education systems can be accessed via this database.
World Bank Open Data
Statistics on development in countries around the globe, collated by the World Bank. Consists of a number of datasets including development indicators, debt statistics and trade logistics statistics. Openly available.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
Official open access repository for World Bank research outputs.

Spotlight on the World Bank eLibrary

We have recently arranged full access to the World Bank eLibrary - a complete collection of World Bank publications including reports, working papers and data from World Development Indicators.

World Bank eLibrary

E-Resources updates

The UCL Electronic Resources blog includes information on new e-journals, e-books and databases. Follow the links below or visit the blog to learn more about our latest trials and different types of e-resources.

UCL Electronic Resources blog

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

UCL LIBRARY SERVICES

Comparative and International Education

Key Databases for Comparative and International Education

Spotlight on the World Bank eLibrary

E-Resources updates

Library Databases

What is a database?

Guide to using the British Education Index