Guides and databases: Economics: Databases

Key databases for journal articles

EconLit
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. This database can be accessed by no more than 4 users at a time. Index of international publications on economics, with selected abstracts.
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
Index of literature in the social sciences and related subjects.
SCOPUS
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.

Economics Research Network (ERN)
Economics section of the Social Science Research Network (SSRN), which aims for rapid dissemination of research in the social sciences. Includes abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers, plus thousands of full-text documents. Can be searched or browsed.
EconPapers
Collection of economics working papers and journal articles. Based on RePEc bibliographic and author data.
NBER Working Papers
Full text of working papers published by the National Bureau of Economic Research, a US-based nonprofit organisation which conducts research into economics, aimed at public policymakers, business professionals and the academic community.

Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. The Economist presents the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them.
Financial Times (FT.com)
Access for UCL students and staff only. UCL username and password required. Registration is required on first visit to enable off-site and ePaper access. UCL users also have access to the app
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the worlds most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2021, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
Nexis
Access for UCL students and staff only. Database of news and company information (formerly provided as LexisNexis 'Executive').

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

The Library provides online access to many historic and current newspapers from around the world. You can access them by:

Newspaper collections at UCL
Details on the many online newspapers to which UCL subscribes, and how UCL staff and students can find and access them.