Guides and databases: Gender and Sexuality Studies: Databases

Key databases

UCL Library Services subscribes to many electronic databases which provide access to a variety of resources. The most relevant ones for Gender and Sexuality studies are listed on this page and these include:

Key databases for journal articles

UCL Library provides access to many subject research databases for academic research. Deciding which one to search depends on the subject of your topic. It is hard to list on this page all databases that could be relevant to Gender and Sexuality Studies because the subject area is broad. Listed below are large, multidisciplinary databases relevant to the arts and humanities and the social sciences. Please contact the subject liaison librarian for further help on which other databases may be relevant to your research.

Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)
This full-text journal database has been created to complement databases including ARTBibliographies Modern, Design and Applied Arts Index, British Humanities Index, MLA International Bibliography and Philosophers Index. Users can link directly from citations in these indexes to the corresponding full-text articles.
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
Index of literature in the social sciences and related subjects.
MLA International Bibliography
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. International database on language, literature, linguistics and folklore.
SCOPUS
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources.

Key databases for primary sources

A primary source is a first-hand expression or evidence of an event or experience. This evidence can be in the form of the written word, images, artefacts, film or sound recordings, and will have been created at some point during the lifetime of the person involved. Using primary sources in your research adds context and credibility to your argument. Primary sources will vary depending upon what is being studied.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. Access is to all five collections: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism & Culture, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part 1, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part 2, Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century and L'Enfer de la Bibliotheque National de France
Archives Unbound
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents covering a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward--from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
English Historical Documents Online
English Historical Documents Online contains over 5,500 expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents from 500-1914.
Historical Texts
Historical Texts brings together three collections in one platform: Early English Books Online (EEBO), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and 65,000 texts from the British Library 19th Century collection.
LGBT Thought and Culture
Featuring books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Mass Observation Online
Featuring, amongst other material, original manuscript and typescript papers from the Mass Observation organisation. The archive was developed to create an 'anthropology of ourselves' and study the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online : Women and Transnational Networks
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. This archive focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective.
Victorian Popular Culture
Focused on popular entertainment in the 19th and early 20th centuries, it is divided into 4 sections: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema
Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights
This collection focuses on the fight for voting rights for women at the national, regional, and local levels. The collection also includes records from the Schlesinger Library’s family planning oral history project and records of Mary Ware Dennett and the Voluntary Parenthood League.
Women and Social Movements Library
This resource focuses on the history of women in social movements between 1600 and the present and includes the four databases: Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000; Women and Social Movements : International, 1840-present; Women and Social Movements, Modern Empires Since 1820; and Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919-2019
Women’s Studies Archive: Female Forerunners Worldwide
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. Focusing on women trailblazers, both individuals and organisations, who have impacted society through social reform, popular culture, healthcare and more.

Key databases for newspapers and magazines: current access and archives

African American Newspapers, Series 1: 1827-1998
Providing access to 280 U.S. newspapers and chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, this collection includes papers from more than 35 states and features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. Accessibility statement for African American Newspapers, Series 1: 1827-1998.
African American Newspapers, Series 2: 1835-1956
This database complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 with more than 75 newly available newspapers all written for or by African Americans. The focus is on the lives of African Americans as individuals, an ethnic group and Americans. Accessibility statement for African American Newspapers, Series 2: 1835-1956.
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection
This collection, originally archived by the British Library, features nearly 60 newspapers from across the African continent, all published before 1900.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
Focuses on the evolution of the region across two centuries chronicled within more than 140 titles from 22 islands

The Economist
Current access to the Economist is via ProQuest Central.

Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. The Economist presents the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive‎, 1880-2015
UCL users have access to collections 1-3 and 5 covering: Music, Radio and The Stage; Cinema, Film and Television and Video Gaming. Primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century.
Financial Times (FT.com)
Access for UCL students and staff only. UCL username and password required. Registration is required on first visit to enable off-site and ePaper access. UCL users also have access to the app
Gale OneFile News
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Gale Primary Sources
Cross search many of Gale Cengage's databases in one platform. Contains archives of newspapers such as The Financial Times, The Times, The Telegraph, and others.
Independent Voices
Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1: 1805-1922
This database provides more than 50 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere
Latin American Newspapers, Series 2: 1822-1922
The second series of digitized Latin American Newspapers expands the number of searchable titles available from this region. Providing issues from more than 250 additional titles, this online series includes newspapers published in English, Spanish and Portuguese from 20 countries, including some countries and cities not represented in the inaugural collection of Latin American Newspapers.
LGBT Magazine Archive
A searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1954 to 2015. Including leading but previously hard-to-find US and UK magazines. Includes the complete backfiles of The Advocate, Gay News and its successor publication Gay Times.
Nexis
Access for UCL students and staff only. Database of news and company information (formerly provided as LexisNexis 'Executive').
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. Comprises the complete archive from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957—all digitized from originals in full colour
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the historical archive of The Guardian, The Observer, The South China Morning Post, The Times of India, Le Monde, and 13 major American newspapers including The New York Times. Click "i" for a full coverage list.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Searches ProQuest Newsstream and Historical Newspapers databases
Rock's Backpages
An archive of rock and pop music history including 30,000 newspaper and magazine articles - reviews, interviews, and feature articles, from US and UK music publications from the 1960s to the present.
Soviet Woman Digital Archive, 1945-1991
Soviet Woman was a: “A magazine devoted to social and political problems, literature and art…” It began as a bimonthly illustrated magazine tasked with countering anti-Soviet propaganda by introducing Western audiences to the lifestyle of Soviet women, including their role in the post-WWII rebuilding of the Soviet economy, and their achievements in the arts and the sciences
Vogue Archive
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Women's Magazine Archive, 1846-2005
Primary sources to facilitate the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of the late-19th century through to 2005. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture
World News in Indian Newspapers, 1782-1908
This collection contains copies of three English language newspapers published in India during the period 1782-1908: The India Gazette (1782-1834); The Bengal Hurkaru and Chronicle (1822-1866); and The Bengal Times (1876-1908

Key databases for research methods

SAGE Research Methods
Combining content from Sage books, journals, case studies, datasets and references works to help users explore methods concepts when designing research projects, conduct research, and write up findings. Access to all areas including Datasets and Doing Research Online. Some video contents is available - refine by 'Available to me'. Foundations content is now included. Accessibility statement for SAGE Research Methods.

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

UCL LIBRARY SERVICES

Gender and Sexuality Studies