Close
Close
UCL library collections include DVDs, which can be borrowed and watched at home or in the library. You can search for a film in our DVD collection in Explore. Type your search term, for example: the title of the film or the name of the director, plus the word "DVD".
UCL library collections include audio CDs, which can be borrowed and listened to at home. You can search for a CD in Explore. Type your search term, for example: the title of the CD or the name of the composer or performer, plus the word "audio".
The library subscribes to video streaming services, including Kanopy, which includes award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases; Academic Video Online, which includes documentary films from Film Platform and the BBC Landmark video series; BFI Player, which includes subscribed feature films; and BoB National (Box of Broadcasts), a searchable database of TV and Radio broadcasts (including films).
The Library’s Bain Graffy Film Collection focuses on Russian, Soviet, Central and Eastern European and Central Asian films. It covers feature films, animations and documentaries from across the region.
The collection comprises more than 6,000 DVDs and hundreds of recorded discs with programmes recorded from television. It is one of the biggest collections of its kind in the UK.
The collection is available to UCL staff and students only. The items cannot be borrowed, but they can be watched on site in the Library in the Multimedia Room.
Access for UCL students and staff only. Access to BoB is only permitted within the United Kingdom. Requires login with UCL username and password. BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education allowing users to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels, access over 2.2 million broadcasts dating back to the 1970s, create playlists, clips and clip compilations; search programme transcripts and subtitles; embed content in VLEs and share on social media
Source: Kanopy, Inc
Providing video streaming to over 26,000 films including thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. The collection includes a number of leading producers, such as the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, BBC and hundreds more. Accessibility statement for Kanopy.
A selection of printed accounts dating from 1557 to 1860, focusing on travels in Central Europe, South Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe and Russia.
The collection features works in English, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Latin, Polish and Russian. Many books are embellished with plates, illustrations, engravings and maps.
Previously unpublished travel memories, bequeathed to SSEES by the famous British archaeologist Sir Arthur Evans.
The digitisation of this collection was made possible by the EU’s EuropeanaTravel project.
A collection of historic maps of Central, South Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe and Russia, dating from the 19th century back to 1490.
The digitisation of this collection was made possible by the EU’s EuropeanaTravel project.
Over 500 photographs taken during the 1920s and 1930s in the course of Margaret Hasluck's ethnographic research in the Balkans. Chiefly from present day Albania and Greece, they also include photographs from present day Turkey, Macedonia, Kosovo and Croatia. They show views of landscapes, towns and villages as well as portraits of local people and activities.
The Countess Brasova collection comprises of a number of photograph albums that depict Natalia Sergeevna Cheremtevskaia and Grand Duke Michael Alexandrovich during the early years of their life together 1909-1913.
Lieutenant-General Sir James Wolfe Murray's album of describes his participation in the visit of the British delegation to Russia, 22 January - 6 February 1912. It includes invitation cards, menus, programmes and an account of the visit by Murray published in the "Morning Post", 8 February 1912. He served as chief of the Imperial General Staff in 1914-1915
The geographer Frank Carter captured photographs of the 1968 Czechoslovakia during his research trip to Prague and Pilsen. At that time, on the night of 20-21 August, thousands of Warsaw Pact troops and tanks invaded the country to halt pro-liberalisation reforms.
The memoir of exiled Prince Paul Ivan Lieven describes his life, and that of his family, in the years 1875-1925. Prince Paul Ivan Lieven was born into one of Russia's leading aristocratic families. He worked briefly as an engineer before going to live on his estates in Livland Province. He was a senior Red Cross official during the Russo-Japanese War. In exile after 1917, he lived in Germany, Belgium, and Ireland. He was married to Nathalie, Baroness von Taube (1876-1964).
A selection of papers from the Major General Sir John Hanbury-Williams collection, from the time when he was the Head of British Military Mission to the Russian Army in the Field during the World War I. After retiring, he researched his family history and the fine arts, and became active in campaigning against Bolshevism.
The British Miners' Delegation album depicts a miners' delegation visiting the USSR, hosted by Soviet miners, between August and October 1926. The delegation was led by A. J. Cook, the secretary of the Miners' Federation of Great Britain.
