Guides and databases: Comparative Literature: Databases

Key databases containing works of literature

Find complete works of literature online using these databases:

Drama Online
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. Access includes the Bloomsbury & Faber Collection, Nick Hern Books, National Theatre Collection, RSC Live and Shakespeare's Globe on Screen.
Early European Books
Selected printed European works from before 1701, mostly in non-English European languages. Access to collections 1-21. Accessibility statement for Early European Books.
Literature Online (LION)
Now upgraded to ProQuest One Literature. Integrating over 350,000 works of poetry, prose and drama from the 8th to the 21st century with a huge library of criticism and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online
UCL has access to selected titles. For a full list please search under 'uclebkoseo' within Explore or, from within Oxford Scholarly Editions Online, select browse and tick the 'Only view full text results provided....' option. Accessibility statement for Oxford Scholarly Editions Online.
Oxford World's Classics
Providing access to approx. 400 novels and other writings from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, expert translations such as Fyodor Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment, Émile Zola’s Germinal, and Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina, to essential texts such as Charles Darwin’s The Origin of Species and Olaudah Equiano’s The Interesting Narrative. Accessibility statement for Oxford World's Classics.
Past Masters
Full text of UCL's subscribed titles: Aristotle, Greek & English, British Philosophy: 1600-1900, The Complete Works of Martin Luther, The Continental Rationalists, The Correspondence of Jeremy Bentham, Nietzsches Werke, Plato, Francis of Assisi: Early Documents, Greek & English, Wittgenstein's Nachlass, The Works of Jeremy Bentham and Giordano Bruno: Werke (German and Italian)

Key databases containing works of criticism

Find the full text of critical works online using these databases:

Cambridge Companions Online
A collection of ebooks from Cambridge University Press. Accessibility statement for Cambridge Core.
Continental Europe Database (ProQuest)
Contains ongoing full-text academic journals published by scholarly organizations and educational institutions in many European countries, including France, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, and Portugal. Subject areas include business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Gale Research Complete
Gale Research Complete provides access to millions of pages of primary sources, e-reference and periodical content
JSTOR
Archive of important scholarly journals. Core resource. Accessibility statement for JSTOR.
Linguistics Database (ProQuest)
Full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). Covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Literature Online (LION)
Now upgraded to ProQuest One Literature. Integrating over 350,000 works of poetry, prose and drama from the 8th to the 21st century with a huge library of criticism and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text of over 20,000 books from Oxford University Press. Accessibility statement for Oxford Academic.

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

What is a database?

Specific Literatures

Please consult the relevant Subject Guides for information about specific literatures: