Guides and databases: Egyptology: Databases

Key bibliographic databases for Egyptology

The following list contains core databases for Egyptology. You are also advised to consult the full list of databases and consult inter-disciplinary databases.

The key database for Egyptology is:

Online Egyptological Bibliography
This holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature and is updated nearly every day. Coverage is from 1822 to the present.

Also consult:

Digital Topographical Bibliography
An essential and comprehensive reference resource for Egyptologists, presenting and analysing both published and unpublished information about ancient Egyptian monuments.
Early Egypt Bibliography (formerly Bibliography of the prehistory and protohistory of Egypt and northern Sudan)
Includes abstracts relating to the Prehistory and Early Dynastic period of Egypt and Northern Sudan. Bilingual French and English searching.

Use the links provided to explore the full range of recommended databases:

Key bibliographic databases for ancient Egyptian languages

The Thesaurus Linguae Aegyptiae
The TLA is an online dictionary for the Ancient Egyptian language, covering lemma from the Old Kingdom through to the Ptolemaic Period, including Demotic.

Coptic Dictionary Online
The Coptic Dictionary Online enables users to look up Coptic words in all dialects and supplies accessible translations in English, French and German
Coptic Scriptorium: Digital Research in Coptic Language and Literature
Digital research in Coptic language and literature. Including Coptic texts, dictionary and linguistic analysis tools

The Demotic Palaeographical Database Project
The aim of the project is to create a digital reference work on demotic palaeography based on a digital corpus of written records.
Trismegistos
Platform for papyrological documents from Graeco-Roman Egypt and antiquity more generally. Also includes other epigraphic material as well. The site aims to facilitate cross-cultural and cross-linguistic research.

Key Image Databases for Egyptology

Art & Architecture Source
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. This database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.

Digitale Schott-Archiv
Contains 8,000 images taken by Siegfried Schott in Egypt during the 1920s and 1930s in Egypt.

Manar al-Athar
This open access photo-archive provides high resolution, searchable images of archaeological sites, buildings and artworks covering the areas of the former Roman Empire which later came under Islamic rule. The chronological range is from Alexander the Great (i.e from about 300 BC) through the Islamic period.

Oriental Institute Photographic Archive
Gives access to a sampling of images from the photographic archives of the Oriental Institute in Chicago, capturing the Institute's archaeological work in the Near East, Egypt and the Sudan from 1892 to the present.

Oxford Art Online
Cross-search Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms through one interface. Accessibility statement for Oxford Art Online.

Key interdisciplinary databases

Humanities Index (BHI)
Previously called BHI: British Humanities Index. Index of published literature in the humanities, covering humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK and the United States.
JSTOR
Archive of important scholarly journals. Core resource. Accessibility statement for JSTOR.
Perse
Perse contains full back runs of French language social and human sciences journals. Subject areas covered include anthropology, law, politics, history, sociology and geography. Most titles remain 3-5 years behind the current date. All articles are in French.
Project Muse
Full text of journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences, with some scientific and medical titles. Accessibility statement for Project Muse.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Accessibility statement for ProQuest Central.
SCOPUS
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.

Key databases for theses

DART-Europe E-theses Portal
Discovery service for full text, open access research theses awarded by European Universities
EThOS (e-theses online service)
Search over 400,000 doctoral theses from over 120 institutions. Users must register before use. Around 160,000 are available in full text, and of the remaining 240,000 records dating back to at least 1800, three quarters are available to be ordered for paid scanning.

Open access theses and dissertations
Over 3.5 million electronic theses and dissertations that are freely available online.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

Key databases for research methods

SAGE Research Methods
Combining content from Sage books, journals, case studies, datasets and references works to help users explore methods concepts when designing research projects, conduct research, and write up findings. Access to all areas including Datasets and Doing Research Online. Some video contents is available - refine by 'Available to me'. Foundations content is now included. Accessibility statement for SAGE Research Methods.

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

What is a database?

Guide to searching databases

Newspapers

The Library provides online access to many historic and current newspapers from around the world. You can access them by:

Searching by individual title in Explore.
Searching across collections using Newspaper collection databases.

Newspaper collections at UCL
Details on the many online newspapers to which UCL subscribes, and how UCL staff and students can find and access them.