Guides and databases: Human Rights: Databases

Key databases in your subject area

HUDOC
The HUDOC database provides access to the case-law of the European Court of Human Rights (Grand Chamber, Chamber and Committee judgments and decisions, communicated cases, advisory opinions and legal summaries from the Case-Law Information Note), the European Commission of Human Rights (decisions and reports) and the Committee of Ministers (resolutions).
Human Rights Studies Online
Providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010, the collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types. Selected events include Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda and Darfur.

International Humanitarian Law Databases (ICRC)
The International Committee of the Red Cross’ International Humanitarian Law Databases are a searchable set of three databases containing IHL-related resources. Users can search the three databases collectively or individually to find and access documents related to IHL norms in both treaty and customary law, as well as their application, implementation, and interpretation.
JURIS Database (OHCHR)
The JURIS database is a central repository of the jurisprudence of the United Nations treaty bodies. It provides access to decisions on individual complaints on human rights violations by eight treaty bodies and aims to assist users in researching the vast body of legal interpretation of international human rights law as it has evolved over the past years.

Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL)
The International Human Rights Law module covers decisions on human rights from a variety of global and regional courts, including cases on the European Convention on Human Rights, decisions of the UN human rights treaty bodies, decisions from the Inter-American system and decisions under the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights.
Recueil des cours de l'Acadmie de Droit International de la Haye
Also known as Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law. Full text access to this important series of courses on public and private international law held annually at the Hague Academy of International Law

Refworld: Global Law & Policy Database (UNHCR)
Maintained by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), Refworld is the leading source of legislation, case law and guidance on refugees, stateless and internally displaced persons.
Status of Ratification Interactive Dashboard (OHCHR)
The OHCHR Status of Ratification Interactive Dashboard is a comprehensive data visualisation portal containing the latest status of ratification of the nine core UN human rights treaties and their protocols. The dashboard allows users to view treaty ratification through interactive world and regional maps.
UK Treaties Online (UKTO)
UKTO provides an official record of the UK's treaty obligations under international law and is sourced by Treaty Section of the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office. UKTO gives access to information on over 14,000 treaties to which the UK is or has been a party with links to texts of command papers published in the UK Treaty Series from 1892.

United Nations Law Collection
A collection of United Nations legal publications, including the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series and publications of the International Court of Justice. Finding Aids and additional features make it easy to find a UN Treaty by entering a UNTS citation, search for a UN Treaty, and link to legal journal articles that cite a UN Treaty.
United Nations Treaty Collection
The United Nations Treaty Collection contains information relating to the registration and publication of treaties in accordance with Article 102 of the Charter of the United Nations, including data regarding each treaty registered with the Secretariat and the full text of the United Nations Treaty Series and the League of Nations Treaty Series.

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.