Library guides and databases: Risk and Disaster Reduction: Databases and literature searching

Key databases for Risk and Disaster Reduction

Digimap - Geology Digimap

Access for UCL students and staff only. Users must register with their UCL username and password on first use and agree to licence conditions. Online access to geological maps and data from the British Geological Survey. Login and choose "Geology".
Google Scholar
UCL has activated findit@UCL links in Google Scholar. If you are using a UCL computer, you should see these links automatically. If you are outside the UCL network and want to display findit@UCL links, you will need to set UCL in 'Library Links' within the Settings menu.
JoVE Unlimited

UCL users have access to all JoVE content, including over 15,000 videos in 13 sections of the JoVE Video Journal. New subject series and collections are added to the JoVE Science Education Library several times a year.
Risk.net
Access to Risk.net includes all journals and ebooks plus news and analysis
SCOPUS

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Web of Science

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Web of Science. Defaults to Web of Science Core Collection, which searches citation indexes containing details of scholarly journal articles, conference proceedings and selected book chapters from all academic disciplines; select 'All Databases' option from the drop down menu to cross-search all UCL's subscribed Web of Science products, including Biosis.

FindIt@UCL

Where you see the Findit@UCL icon, click on it to link to the full text.

Sometimes you will see a link to the publisher's site. Unless the article is open access, you might find that you can't reach the full text.

Clicking on the Findit@UCL link instead will link you to the full text via UCL's subscription access, if available.

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

What is a database?

Search strategies for literature searching

This online tutorial uses a series of videos and activities to demonstrate some top tips for enhancing your searching skills. The extract below looks at how you decide what terms to use.

Try the full tutorial.

Guide to searching for information

This guide will help you start looking for research for assignments, literature reviews and research.