Guides and databases: Paediatrics : Databases

Subject Collections

Key databases for Paediatrics, Nursing and Allied Health include:

PubMed
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to PubMed. Please view the instructions on how to see findit@UCL links in PubMed when offsite. PubMed is an index of biomedical literature, including all data from the Medline database from National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the US National Library of Medicine (NLM).
EMBASE
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. Comprehensive pharmacological and biomedical database renowned for extensive indexing of drug information.
Cochrane Library
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to The Cochrane Library. The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Databases include: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL).
CINAHL Plus
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. This database can be accessed by no more than 4 users at a time. The authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare.
MEDLINE (Ovid version)
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. Index of journal articles from the National Library of Medicine. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Includes EPub Ahead of Print citations.
Emcare
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. Covering all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions Emcare includes international coverage and includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases including more than a thousand journals not covered by Embase.

Evidence-based resources to aid clinical decision making include:

Best Practice (BMJ)
Clinical evidence, guidelines and expert opinion on health care, from the BMJ Publishing Group. Presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Replaces Clinical Evidence for UCL users.

Clinical Knowledge Summaries
Provides summaries of the evidence available on a range of primary care presentations. The information is intended for primary care professionals in the UK.)
ECRI Guidelines Trust
The ECRI Guidelines Trust® is a publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other healthcare providers and professionals, and members of the healthcare community with current clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care globally.
GIN International Guidelines Library
The library contains links to guidelines published or endorsed by GIN member organisations from across the globe. It also contains a registry of planned guidelines and guidelines in development.
NIHR Evidence
summaries of recent research targeted at decision makers

Multidisciplinary databases include:

SCOPUS
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Web of Science
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Web of Science. Defaults to a ‘Core Collection’ search, covering the main Web of Science journals database; select 'All Databases' option from the drop down menu to cross-search all of UCL's subscribed Web of Science products, including Biosis, MEDLINE etc.

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

UCL LIBRARY SERVICES

Paediatrics

Subject Collections

Key databases for Paediatrics, Nursing and Allied Health include:

Evidence-based resources to aid clinical decision making include:

Multidisciplinary databases include:

Library Databases

What is a database?