Physics and Astronomy

ArXiv is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. It covers areas such as physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Web of Science. Indexes over 30,000 editorially selected books with 10,000 new books added each year. To search only content from this database, go to More settings and select Book Citation Index Science only.

The Archive of the British Association for the Advancement of Science (BAAS) and connected collections from UK universities covers astronomy, biology, technology, industrial design, chemistry, engineering, mathematics, agriculture, meteorology, physics, history of science and STEM, and government grants for scientific research. It contains administrative records, correspondence, illustrations, manuscripts, photographs, prototypes, clippings, personal papers, grey literature—all presented as fully searchable digital images.

The Conference Proceedings Citation Index lets you use cited reference searching to see the full impact of conferences and other professional meetings.

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. Comprehensive pharmacological and biomedical database renowned for extensive indexing of drug information.

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. Historic edition of the pharmacological and biomedical database renowned for extensive indexing of drug information. For recent content, see EMBASE

Faculti videos covering both formal and natural sciences offering academic and professional research insights.

Inspec indexes journals and conference proceedings in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, computing, control engineering, manufacturing and production engineering, communications and information technology.

UCL users have access to all JoVE content, including over 15,000 videos in 13 sections of the JoVE Video Journal. New subject series and collections are added to the JoVE Science Education Library several times a year.

Series covering new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching. Accessibility statement for SpringerLink.

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. Index of journal articles from the National Library of Medicine. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Includes EPub Ahead of Print citations.

Indexes 8,300 major journals across 150 disciplines.

Focusing on both the applied and general sciences and with coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,145 titleswith more than 965 available in full text.

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Web of Science. Defaults to a ‘Core Collection’ search, covering the main Web of Science journals database; select 'All Databases' option from the drop down menu to cross-search all of UCL's subscribed Web of Science products, including Biosis, MEDLINE etc.