Guides and databases: General &amp; Reference Resources: Databases

Key databases for multi-disciplinary literature searching

JSTOR
Archive of important scholarly journals. Core resource. Accessibility statement for JSTOR.
Literature Online (LION)
Now upgraded to ProQuest One Literature. Integrating over 350,000 works of poetry, prose and drama from the 8th to the 21st century with a huge library of criticism and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Accessibility statement for ProQuest Central.
SCOPUS
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.

Multi-disciplinary Resources

BoB National (Box of Broadcasts)

UCL staff and students can now access BoB within the EU until 31st July 2020 Access or use of BoB is only permitted within the United Kingdom. Requires login with UCL username and password. This is a streaming only service. BoB requires a flashplayer 9 for PC's or 10 for Mac. The earliest supported browser versions are: Internet Explorer 10, Mozilla Firefox 26, Safari 5, Google Chrome 31.

Engineering Village

Index of engineering and applied science publications. Includes Inspec and Compendex.

Oxford Reference Online

Full text of dictionaries, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including 130 English and bilingual dictionaries.

USPTO Patent Database

The database includes information about all US patents (including utility, design, reissue, plant patents and SIR documents) from the first patent issued in 1790 to the most recent issue week.

Financial Times (FT.com)

UCL username and password required. Registration is required on first visit to enable off-site and ePaper access.

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

UCL LIBRARY SERVICES

General & Reference Resources