Guides and databases: SSEES Languages and Culture: Databases

Databases

Databases will allow you to quickly find high-quality resources for your subject. Databases can be divided into several categories, some provides access to primary resources (i.e. data-rich source material, factual, raw data with little or no commentary or interpretation) others to secondary resources (predominantly commentary and analysis of raw data, news and current affairs) and still others to search aids, indexes and bibliographies. UCL provides access to a variety of databases and full text resources via the Databases webpage where databases are listed in alphabetical order and can be searched by subject, type or database provider. Databases are indexed and can be accessed via Explore.

Key databases in your subject area

Arcanum Digitheca
Access to the largest Hungarian database containing scientific journals, encyclopedias, newspapers and series.
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Includes Bloomsbury’s Cultural Histories series, an extensive e-book collection, image partnerships with the Wellcome Collection and supporting features to support the study of culture throughout the ages from antiquity to modernity. Accessibility statement for Bloomsbury Cultural History.
BoB (Box of Broadcasts)
Access for UCL students and staff only. Access to BoB is only permitted within the United Kingdom. Requires login with UCL username and password. BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education allowing users to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels, access over 2.2 million broadcasts dating back to the 1970s, create playlists, clips and clip compilations; search programme transcripts and subtitles; embed content in VLEs and share on social media
CEEOL: Central and Eastern European Online Library
Ongoing full-text database of 2,300+ academic journals, 4,200+ eBooks and 5,500 Grey Literature documents published in Central, East and Southeast Europe dedicated to Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts. Full-text content is indexed and included in 30+ languages.
East Europe, Central Europe Database (ProQuest)
Ongoing full-text academic journals published in East and Central Europe. Covers business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities
East View Online Databases
Database of full-text newspaper articles, journal articles and government publications from Russia, plus newspaper articles from Central and Eastern Europe, Central Asia and the Caucasus.
Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe (YIVO)
Encyclopedia of the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe, from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present. Covers arts, daily life, places, languages and literature, history and politics, and religion.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
A comprehensive reference work that provides information and statistics for all of the world’s known living languages. Language descriptions are organized by world area, UN region and country
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES) 1991-2007
This database contains the data of two former EBSEES databases, one for 1991-2000, the other for 2001-2006. The new unified database with about 85.500 titles has been developed by the Berlin State Library in cooperation with the Maison des Sciences de l´Homme, Paris.
Humanities International Index
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Kanopy
Providing video streaming to over 26,000 films including thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. The collection includes a number of leading producers, such as the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, BBC and hundreds more.
Music Database (ProQuest)
Previously titled International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text. Providing indexing and abstracts for more than 440 international music periodicals, plus full text for 130 journals from 1874 to the present.
Oxford Language Dictionaries
Full bi-lingual dictionaries, between English and French, German, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, Arabic and Portuguese. Accessibility statement for Oxford language dictionaries online.
Oxford Music Online
With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also provides access to The Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. Accessibility statement for Oxford Music Online.
ProQuest One Literature
ProQuest One Literature contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. Includes content from Literature Online (LION)
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Translation Studies Bibliography & Translation Studies Abstracts
Containing abstracts and summaries of journal articles and other published material and without any national, regional, cultural or thematic limitations TSB is aimed at scholars of translation and intercultural studies, and related disciplines.
World Cinema Collection : Films on Demand
Streaming films from Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East, from the silent era, the mid-20th century, as well as award-winning contemporary works.

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

What is a database?

Search the MLA

MLA International Bibliography
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. International database on language, literature, linguistics and folklore.