Close
Close
UCL Library Services subscribes to many electronic databases which provide access to a variety of resources. The most relevant ones for students studying the Americas are listed on this page. These include:
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry. Accessibility statement for ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest).
Archive of important scholarly journals. Core resource. Accessibility statement for JSTOR.
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Accessibility statement for ProQuest Central.
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. Sociology research database, which features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Containing full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, 830 books and monographs, and over 16,800 conference papers.
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Web of Science. Defaults to a ‘Core Collection’ search, covering the main Web of Science journals database; select 'All Databases' option from the drop down menu to cross-search all of UCL's subscribed Web of Science products, including Biosis, MEDLINE etc.
A primary source is a first-hand expression or evidence of an event or experience. This evidence can be in the form of the written word, images, artefacts, film or sound recordings, and will have been created at some point during the lifetime of the person involved. Using primary sources in your research adds context and credibility to your argument. Primary sources will vary depending upon what is being studied.
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of AM, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries. Accessibility statement for Adam Matthew Explorer.
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. Covering Latin American and Caribbean culture and society from the fifteenth century to the present day providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations. Accessibility statement for Gale Primary Sources.
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. Access is to all six collections: Community and Identity in North America, International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism & Culture, L'Enfer de la Bibliotheque National de France, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part 1, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part 2 and Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Accessibility statement for Border and Migration Studies Online.
Features a range of sources from Britain and America, covering key subjects within this historical field, including Keynesian economic policy in post-war Britain; international labour movements; the London Stock Exchange; and the papers of important economists. Accessibility statement for Business, Economic and Labour History.
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 60,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. Accessibility statement for Digital National Security Archive.
Cross search many of Gale Cengage's databases in one platform
Providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010, the collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types. Selected events include Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda and Darfur.
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Focusing on both the personal stories of migrants and the wider context of the history of migration. Accessibility statement for Migration to New Worlds.
Collection of primary source exhibits focusing on queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender and to include work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT
Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource includes unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. Accessibility statement for Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice.
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. Accessibility statement for Socialism on Film.
Examining the history of trade, trade policies, financial crises, emerging markets and technological innovations that unite the world in an ever-changing system of trade. This collection gathers books, case studies, archival materials and documentaries to provide historical context and insights. Accessibility statement for Alexander Street
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Coverage from 1969 onwards.
Access for UCL students and staff only. Log in with UCL email address then via the UCL Single Sign On. Please note that Bloomberg terminal / Bloomberg Anywhere is not included. Includes access to the Bloomberg.com and the Bloomberg mobile app plus unlimited streaming of Bloomberg TV, radio and podcasts. Bloomberg.com delivers business and markets news, data, analysis, and video featuring stories from Businessweek and Bloomberg News.
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. Published primarily by young people, aged 12-20, during the second half of the 19th century, this archive features tens of thousands of issues, and includes editorials, original short fiction, essays, poetry, and more from over 3,300 amateur newspaper titles. Accessibility statement for Amateur Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society.
The newspapers in Early Colonial to Articles of Confederation Era, 1690-1789 can be searched by choosing “Select All” in the search interface, individual newspapers can also be found in “Browse Publications". Featuring titles from every region of the U.S. to provide a record of people, issues and events from the time period such as: Salem witchcraft, Slavery institutionalized, First Great Awakening, Pontiac's Rebellion, Royal Proclamation of 1763, Stamp Act Crisis, Boston Massacre, Boston Tea Party, First Continental Congress, Battle of Lexington and Concord, Declaration of Independence, Rise of Republicanism, Treaty of Paris, Shays' Rebellion, U.S. Constitutional Convention, Rise of Republican Motherhood.
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the worlds most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2021, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. Comprises the complete archive from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957—all digitized from originals in full colour
Search the historical archive of The Guardian, The Observer, The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times, The South China Morning Post, The Korea Times, The Jerusalem Post, The Times of India and 31 major American newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post and the Chinese Newspapers collection. Click on 'Change Databases' and scroll down to see which titles are selected for searching
Combining content from Sage books, journals, case studies, datasets and references works to help users explore methods concepts when designing research projects, conduct research, and write up findings. Access to all areas including Datasets and Doing Research Online. Some video contents is available - refine by 'Available to me'. Foundations content is now included. Please contact the E-Resources team to request instructor access. Accessibility statement for SAGE Research Methods.
The Library provides online access to many historic and current newspapers from around the world. You can access them by:
