Guides and databases: Education (Curriculum Resources and Initial Teacher Education): Databases

Key databases in your subject area: Education literature and research

British Education Index (EBSCO)
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. Database of information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Particular strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. Useful resource for museum education.
Digital Education Resource Archive
Digital archive of all documents published electronically by government and related bodies in the area of education.
Education Database (ProQuest)
Giving users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in ERIC.
Education Magazine Archive‎, 1910-2015
Archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries offering insights into educational history, theory, and perspectives
ERIC (EBSCO)
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. The Education Resource Information Center provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
SCOPUS
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Teachers TV from Education in Video
Provides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts
Web of Science
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Web of Science. Defaults to a ‘Core Collection’ search, covering the main Web of Science journals database; select 'All Databases' option from the drop down menu to cross-search all of UCL's subscribed Web of Science products, including Biosis, MEDLINE etc.

Key databases in your subject area: Teaching and classroom resources

BoB (Box of Broadcasts)
Access for UCL students and staff only. Access to BoB is only permitted within the United Kingdom. Requires login with UCL username and password. BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education allowing users to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels, access over 2.2 million broadcasts dating back to the 1970s, create playlists, clips and clip compilations; search programme transcripts and subtitles; embed content in VLEs and share on social media
Kanopy
Providing video streaming to over 26,000 films including thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. The collection includes a number of leading producers, such as the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, BBC and hundreds more. Accessibility statement for Kanopy.
National Theatre Collection : Drama Online
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings, the National Theatre Collections 1 & 2 contain 50 filmed performances
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Searches ProQuest Newsstream and Historical Newspapers databases
RSC Live : Drama Online
The RSC Live Collection contains 26 films of live Royal Shakespeare Company productions from 2013 onwards. New RSC productions will continue to be added as they are filmed, as the RSC works through Shakespeare’s canon.
Teachers TV from Education in Video
Provides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

UCL LIBRARY SERVICES

Education (Curriculum Resources and Initial Teacher Education)

Key databases in your subject area: Education literature and research

Key databases in your subject area: Teaching and classroom resources

Library Databases

What is a database?