Skip to Main Content
XClose

Library Services

Home

UCL LIBRARY SERVICES

Art

Databases for finding journal articles

Interdisciplinary databases

These databases index publications covering all subjects in the arts and humanities and social sciences. Use these to get a broader overview of your topic. 

Images

Newspaper archives

Primary sources

A primary source is a first-hand expression or evidence of an event or experience. This evidence can be in the form of the written word, images, artefacts, film or sound recordings, and will have been created at some point during the lifetime of the person involved. Using primary sources in your research adds context and credibility to your argument. Primary sources will vary depending upon what is being studied.

Digital Archive Collections

The Library provides access to a number of digital collections of historical documents. The following interdisciplinary databases cover a range of subjects:

Film streaming databases

BoB National (Box of Broadcasts)

UCL staff and students can now access BoB within the EU until 31st July 2020 Access or use of BoB is only permitted within the United Kingdom. Requires login with UCL username and password. This is a streaming only service. BoB requires a flashplayer 9 for PC's or 10 for Mac. The earliest supported browser versions are: Internet Explorer 10, Mozilla Firefox 26, Safari 5, Google Chrome 31.

Kanopy

Providing video streaming to over 26,000 films including thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. The collection includes a number of leading producers, such as the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, BBC and hundreds more.