Guides and databases: Business, Management, Entrepreneurship and Finance: Databases

Key databases

UCL provides online access to a variety of databases for business, management, entrepreneurship and finance. The ones listed on this page include:

Key databases for journal articles

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry. Accessibility statement for ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest).
Accounting,Tax & Banking Collection (ProQuest)
Bringing together global scholarly journals and other key resources this collection cover the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day. Accessibility statement for Accounting,Tax & Banking Collection (ProQuest).
Asian & European Business Collection
Offering detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere. Includes full-text coverage of news stories, country information and statistics and political, economic, social, and business profiles.
ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA covers the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals and periodicals from 19 countries, including the UK and US
Business Market Research Collection
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from: Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch and Snapshots
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content. It also contains the full-text of Harvard Business Review. This is the key database for this subject area.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs database combines full text and indexed content from four subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Covers over 4.5 million records from approx 1,680 titles.
EconLit
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. This database can be accessed by no more than 4 users at a time. Index of international publications on economics, with selected abstracts.
Emerald Insight
Emerald Insight provides abstracts and full text access to books and journals published by Emerald. Content includes the subject areas of accounting, management, education, engineering and information science.
Engineering Village
Index of engineering and applied science publications. Includes Inspec and Compendex.
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
Index of literature in the social sciences and related subjects.
IEEE Xplore
A useful database for computer science material.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full-text database containing journal articles and book chapters from thousands of journals and ebooks. Subjects covered include science, technology, business, management, accounting, health sciences, engineering and social science.
SCOPUS
A multidisciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources.

Key databases for newspapers and business magazines

Bloomberg.com / Bloomberg News
Access for UCL students and staff only. Log in with UCL email address then via the UCL Single Sign On. Please note that Bloomberg terminal / Bloomberg Anywhere is not included. Includes access to the Bloomberg.com and the Bloomberg mobile app plus unlimited streaming of Bloomberg TV, radio and podcasts. Bloomberg.com delivers business and markets news, data, analysis, and video featuring stories from Businessweek and Bloomberg News.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. The Economist presents the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them.

The Economist
Search or browse current issues of the Economist. Full-text coverage is available from 2008 to the present.

Financial Times (FT.com)
Access for UCL students and staff only. UCL username and password required. Registration is required on first visit to enable off-site and ePaper access. UCL users also have access to the app
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021
Cross-search with other Gale/Cengage primary sources in Gale Primary Sources. The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the worlds most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2021, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
Nexis
Access for UCL students and staff only. Database of news and company information (formerly provided as LexisNexis 'Executive').

Key databases for mathematics

MathSciNet (AMS)
Comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940.
Current Index to Statistics
Index to publications in statistics and related fields.

Key databases for research methods

SAGE Research Methods
Combining content from Sage books, journals, case studies, datasets and references works to help users explore methods concepts when designing research projects, conduct research, and write up findings. Access to all areas including Datasets and Doing Research Online. Some video contents is available - refine by 'Available to me'. Foundations content is now included. Accessibility statement for SAGE Research Methods.

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

What is a database?

Newspapers

The Library provides online access to many historic and current newspapers from around the world. You can access them by:

Searching by individual title in Explore.
Searching across collections using Newspaper collection databases.

Newspaper collections at UCL
Details on the many online newspapers to which UCL subscribes, and how UCL staff and students can find and access them.