Guides and databases: SSEES Economics and Business: Databases

Databases

Databases will allow you to quickly find high-quality resources for your subject. Currently UCL SSEES library provides access to 74 databases on the subject of economics. The databases can be divided into several categories. Some provide access to primary resources (i.e. data-rich source material, factual, raw data with little or no commentary or interpretation) others to secondary resources (predominantly commentary and analysis of raw data, news and current affairs) and still others to search aids, indexes and bibliographies. UCL provides access to a variety of databases and full text resources via the Databases webpage where databases are listed in alphabetical order and can be searched by subject, type or database provider. Databases are indexed and can be accessed via Explore.

Key databases in your subject area

BBC Monitoring
The BBC covers reports from radio, television, new agencies, press and new media in over 180 countries in over 100 languages. Access is provided to global portal plus: Terrorism Digest, Regional, Political and Security Round ups and Cyber Security Review. UCL access only, login with username and password.
Business Market Research Collection
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from: Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch and Snapshots
CEEOL: Central and Eastern European Online Library
Full-text database of over 2,300 academic journals, 4,200 eBooks and 5,500 Grey Literature documents published in Central, East and Southeast Europe dedicated to humanities, social sciences and arts. Full-text content is indexed and included in over 30 languages.

Datastream / Eikon
Datastream is an extensive historical time series database that provides financial and economic data. You can find over 65 years of data covering 175 countries. It is a great tool for macroeconomic insights and forecasting. Coverage includes equity indexes, unit trusts, bonds, interest rates, exchange rates and commodities, with tools for exploring historical trends and relationships between time series.

Access to Datastream/Eikon is available via Refinitiv WorkSpace. UCL students and staff should contact the e-resources team to request a licence. Licences are initially for 1 week and may be reassigned after this depending on demand.

East View Online Databases
Database of full-text newspaper articles, journal articles and government publications from Russia, plus newspaper articles from Central and Eastern Europe, Central Asia and the Caucasus.
EconLit
Index of economic publications with selected abstracts.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union, providing statistics that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
Financial Times (FT.com)
Access for UCL students and staff only. UCL username and password required. Registration is required on first visit to enable off-site and ePaper access. UCL users also have access to the app
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
Essential Index of literature in the social sciences provides comprehensive coverage of core social science subjects of anthropology, economics, politics and sociology.
International Monetary Fund Data and Statistics (IMF)
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
Nexis
Database of news and company information (formerly provided as LexisNexis 'Executive').Provides access to full text UK and international newspaper articles and company information.
OECD iLibrary
Publications and statistics portal from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development provides access to OECD books, periodicals, working papers and statistical databases.
Passport
Euromonitor International’s global market analysis software platform analyses industries in countries around the world. It provides industry-specific data sets, coverage of relevant channels and products, long historic data series, and reports by local analysts analysing the characteristics of countries. You will need to log in with your UCL username and password to access the site.
SCOPUS
A multidisciplinary database provides access to high quality science, social science and art journals some dating back to 1970. It enables easy citation tracking.
UK Data Service
The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. Registration is required if you wish to download, order or analyse data online, where this is possible. Use your UCL username and password.
World Bank Open Data
Statistics on development in countries around the globe, collated by the World Bank. Consists of a number of datasets including development indicators, debt statistics and trade logistics statistics. Openly available.

Data and statistics

Guide to data and statistics
Includes resource lists mainly in the social sciences, alongside support material and FAQs, but also pointers to finding data more generally. Also, there’s further information and guidance about analysing, visualising, referencing and managing data, as well as text and data mining.

What is a database?

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

Selected databases

Amadeus

(Photo by luis gomes from Pexels)

A database of comparable information for public and private companies across Europe.

EconLit

(Photo by Viktor Talashuk from Pexels)

Index of international publications on economics, with selected abstracts.

Financial Times (FT.com)

(Photo by Markus Spiske from Pexels)

UCL username and password required. Registration is required on first visit to enable off-site and ePaper access.

BBC Monitoring (Europe and Russia)

BBC cover reports from radio, television, new agencies, press and new media in over 180 countries in over 100 languages. Access is provided to global portal plus, Terrorist Digest, Regional, Political and Security Round ups and Cyber Security Review. UCL access only, login with username and password.

Economist Historical Archive

(Photo by Markus Spiske from Pexels)

The Economist Historical Archive is accessible online back to 2015. You can search full text for keywords or, browse the content of specific issues

Working papers

UCL SSEES Economics and Business working paper series

The working paper series is a collection of research papers reflecting the interests of the economics and business group within UCL SSEES. It focuses principally on the economies of Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia.

Economics Research Network (ERN)

Economics Research Network (ERN), is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. Includes abstracts of scholarly working papers, forthcoming papers and full-text documents.

EconPapers

Collection of economics working papers and journal articles. Based on RePEc bibliographic and author data.

NBER Working Papers

Full text of working papers published by the National Bureau of Economic Research, a US-based nonprofit organisation which conducts research into economics, aimed at public policymakers, business professionals and the academic community.

UCL LIBRARY SERVICES

SSEES Economics and Business