Library guides and databases: Philosophy: Databases

Key databases containing works of Philosophy

Find complete works of Philosophy online using these databases:

Loeb Classical Library
The Loeb Classical Library online contains all the volumes in the series of Greek and Latin up-to-date texts with parallel English translations published since 1911. Fully searchable, there will be biannual additions to this virtual library of all that is important in classical literature.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online
UCL has access to selected titles. For a full list please search under 'uclebkoseo' within Explore or, from within Oxford Scholarly Editions Online, select browse and tick the 'Only view full text results provided....' option. Accessibility statement for Oxford Scholarly Editions Online.
Oxford World's Classics
Providing access to over 450 novels and other writings from the Medieval period to the 20th century, from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, expert translations such as Fyodor Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment, Émile Zola’s Germinal, and Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina, to essential texts such as Charles Darwin’s The Origin of Species and Olaudah Equiano’s The Interesting Narrative. Accessibility statement for Oxford World's Classics.
Past Masters
Full text of UCL's subscribed titles: Aristotle, Greek & English, British Philosophy: 1600-1900, The Complete Works of Martin Luther, The Continental Rationalists, The Correspondence of Jeremy Bentham, Nietzsches Werke, Plato, Francis of Assisi: Early Documents, Greek & English, Wittgenstein's Nachlass, The Works of Jeremy Bentham and Giordano Bruno: Werke (German and Italian)

This Philosophy primary texts reading list collects together some of the key works of Philosophy available through the above databases.

Find the full texts of works of criticism online using these databases:

Cambridge Companions Online
A collection of ebooks from Cambridge University Press. Accessibility statement for Cambridge Core.
JSTOR
Archive of important scholarly journals. Core resource. Accessibility statement for JSTOR.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text of over 20,000 books from Oxford University Press. Accessibility statement for Oxford Academic.

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.