Guides and databases: Sociology: Databases

Key databases in Sociology

ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA covers the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals and periodicals from 19 countries, including the UK and US
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
Index of literature in the social sciences and related subjects.
JSTOR
Archive of important scholarly journals. Core resource. Accessibility statement for JSTOR.
SCOPUS
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Social Policy and Practice
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. This database can be accessed by no more than 4 users at a time. Abstracts of evidence-based social science research for policy-makers, practitioners, educators and students working within economic and social development, social administration, social services, and care management. Incorporates ChildData.
Social Science Database (ProQuest)
Offering over 1000 titles with the majority full-text. This database covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and features journals from over 50 countries.
SocINDEX with Full Text
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. Sociology research database, which features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Containing full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, 830 books and monographs, and over 16,800 conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts
This Indexing and Abstracting database covers the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Pulled from nearly 2,000 serial publications, including journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations.
Sociology Database (ProQuest)
Covering the international literature of sociology and social work this collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. Includes hundreds of full text scholarly journals and over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology.

Databases for Politics and Sociology

Political Science Databases
Browse our databases by title, or use the drop down boxes at the top to narrow down to relevant databases.

Key databases for SSEES Politics and Sociology

CEEOL: Central and Eastern European Online Library
Ongoing full-text database of 2,300+ academic journals, 4,200+ eBooks and 5,500 Grey Literature documents published in Central, East and Southeast Europe dedicated to Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts. Full-text content is indexed and included in 30+ languages.

East Europe, Central Europe Database (ProQuest)
Ongoing full-text academic journals published in East and Central Europe. Covers business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities
East View Online Databases
Database of full-text newspaper articles, journal articles and government publications from Russia, plus newspaper articles from Central and Eastern Europe, Central Asia and the Caucasus.
IntelliNews Pro
Delivering market news and reports, in English, for over 15 countries in Central and Eastern Europe and regionally for the Middle East/North Africa, Nigeria/Ivory Coast, Sub Saharan Africa, and Asia

Databases for Education

Education databases

Browse our databases by title, or use the drop down boxes at the top to narrow down to relevant databases.

What is a database?

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

Data and statistics

Guide to data and statistics
Includes resource lists mainly in the social sciences, alongside support material and FAQs, but also pointers to finding data more generally. Also, there’s further information and guidance about analysing, visualising, citing and managing data, as well as text and data mining.