Guides and databases: Science and Technology Studies: Databases and literature searching

Key databases for Science and Technology Studies

Age of Exploration
This collection explores five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts. Accessibility statement for Age of Exploration.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (part of WoS Core Collection)
Fully indexes over 2300 arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items over 250 scientific and social sciences journals. To search only content from this database, go to More settings and select Arts & Humanities Citation index only.
Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities (part of WoS Core Collection)
Indexes over 30,000 editorially selected books with 10,000 new books added each year. To search only content from this database, go to More settings and select Book Citation Index SSH only.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Cornell University Library Historical Mathematics Monographs
Collection of over 500 selected mathematics monographs with expired copyrights.
Darwin Online
Online collection of the writings of Charles Darwin, including more than 50,000 searchable text pages and 40,000 images of both publications and handwritten manuscripts.
EMBASE
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. Comprehensive pharmacological and biomedical database renowned for extensive indexing of drug information.
EMBASE Classic
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. Historic edition of the pharmacological and biomedical database renowned for extensive indexing of drug information. For recent content, see EMBASE
Faculti Sciences collection
Faculti videos covering both formal and natural sciences offering academic and professional research insights.
Google Scholar
UCL has activated findit@UCL links in Google Scholar. If you are using a UCL computer, you should see these links automatically. If you are outside the UCL network and want to display findit@UCL links, you will need to set UCL in 'Library Links' within the Settings menu.
Historical Abstracts
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. This database can be accessed by no more than 6 users at a time. Complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excl. the United States and Canada - see America: History and Life).
History of Science, Technology & Medicine (EBSCO)
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. This database can be accessed by no more than 1 user at a time. Integrates four bibliographiesthe Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
Index of literature in the social sciences and related subjects.
JoVE Unlimited
UCL users have access to all JoVE content, including over 15,000 videos in 13 sections of the JoVE Video Journal. New subject series and collections are added to the JoVE Science Education Library several times a year.
MEDLINE (Ovid version)
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. Index of journal articles from the National Library of Medicine. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Includes EPub Ahead of Print citations.
New York Academy of Sciences Digital Archive
Encapsulating the history and development of natural science, technology and modern biomedical sciences, and documents anti-intellectualist sentiments towards scientists.
Philosopher's Index
Covering literature from 1940 and monitoring over 1,400 journals from 80 countries, Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.
PubMed
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to PubMed. Please view the instructions on how to see findit@UCL links in PubMed when offsite. PubMed is an index of biomedical literature, including all data from the Medline database from National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the US National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Royal College of Physicians Digital Archive: Parts I and II
The RCP archive covers the history of medicine, medical humanities, medicine and culture, religion, and government, the establishment of public health systems, and the policies governing medical education and practice, with content spanning from the twelfth to the nineteenth century. It contains monographs, rare books, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, medical reports, medical education textbooks, proceedings, lectures, anatomical drawings, public health surveys, photographs, drawings, data and ephemera. UCL has access to both collection I and II
Science Citation Index Expanded
Indexes 8,300 major journals across 150 disciplines.
SCOPUS
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Social Sciences Citation Index
2,697 journals across 55 social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Web of Science
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Web of Science. Defaults to a ‘Core Collection’ search, covering the main Web of Science journals database; select 'All Databases' option from the drop down menu to cross-search all of UCL's subscribed Web of Science products, including Biosis, MEDLINE etc.

FindIt@UCL

Where you see the Findit@UCL icon, click on it to link to the full text.

Sometimes you will see a link to the publisher's site. Unless the article is open access, you might find that you can't reach the full text.

Clicking on the Findit@UCL link instead will link you to the full text via UCL's subscription access, if available.

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

What is a database?

Search strategies for literature searching

This online tutorial uses a series of videos and activities to demonstrate some top tips for enhancing your searching skills. The extract below looks at how you decide what terms to use.

Try the full tutorial.

Guide to searching for information

This guide will help you start looking for research for assignments, literature reviews and research.