Guides and databases: Education (Theory and Practice): Databases

Key databases in your subject area

Australian Education Index (Proquest)
Database which indexes documents relating to educational research, policy and practice in Australia.
BoB (Box of Broadcasts)
Access for UCL students and staff only. Access to BoB is only permitted within the United Kingdom. Requires login with UCL username and password. BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education allowing users to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels, access over 2.2 million broadcasts dating back to the 1970s, create playlists, clips and clip compilations; search programme transcripts and subtitles; embed content in VLEs and share on social media
British Education Index (EBSCO)
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. Database of information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Particular strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. Useful resource for museum education.
Digital Education Resource Archive
Digital archive of all documents published electronically by government and related bodies in the area of education.
Education Database (ProQuest)
Giving users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in ERIC.
ERIC (EBSCO)
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. The Education Resource Information Center provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Social Science Database (ProQuest)
Offering over 1000 titles with the majority full-text. This database covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and features journals from over 50 countries.
Teachers TV from Education in Video
Provides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts

Finding the full-text

If you're using one of our databases to find journal articles, you might not be able to read the article within the database itself. If you see the Findit@UCL icon, click on it to link to the full-text

Sometimes you will see a link to the publisher's site. Unless the article is open access, you might find that you can't reach the full-text.

Clicking on the Findit@UCL link instead will link you to the full-text via UCL's subscription access, if available.

If you're using Google Scholar you can set up the Library Links feature so that it will display a findit@UCL link to help show you which articles are available via UCL subscriptions.

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

What is a database?

Guide to using the British Education Index

Can't find full-text?

UCL has an amazing collection of electronic resources, but no library can have full-text access to everything. If you identify a piece of information that would be beneficial to your research, the library will try and source a copy for you via the Inter Library Loans service.

Interlending and Document Supply