Guides and databases: Engineering: Databases

General Engineering databases

Engineer-it
Product and supplier information for design and manufacturing, process engineering and electronics.
Engineering Case Studies Online
Video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes. At completion, the collection will contain 250 hours and 50,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world.
Engineering Village
Index of engineering and applied science publications. Includes Inspec and Compendex.
Knovel
Searchable science and engineering data taken from leading databooks and databases. Please note that content with a padlock icon next to it is unavailable to UCL
SCOPUS
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Web of Science
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Web of Science. Defaults to a ‘Core Collection’ search, covering the main Web of Science journals database; select 'All Databases' option from the drop down menu to cross-search all of UCL's subscribed Web of Science products, including Biosis, MEDLINE etc.

Biochemical and Chemical Engineering databases

Chemical Abstracts
Access for UCL students and staff only. On first use, go to the Scifinder registration page to create a personal password. Access to the databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS). Covers documents (journals, proceedings, patents, technical reports and books), substances and reactions.
EMBASE
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. Comprehensive pharmacological and biomedical database renowned for extensive indexing of drug information.
Reaxys
This database integrates: Reaxys, Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry, Reaxys Predictive Retrosynthesis, Reaxys Commercial Substances, PubChem, eMolecules, LabNetwork and Sigma-Aldrich.
SciFinder-n
Access for UCL students and staff only. On first use, go to the Scifinder registration page to create a personal password.

Biomedical Engineering and Medical Physics databases

Anatomy.tv
Anatomy software providing over 400,000 anatomical images and relevant clinical and research information
MEDLINE (Ovid version)
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. Index of journal articles from the National Library of Medicine. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Includes EPub Ahead of Print citations.
PubMed
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to PubMed. Please view the instructions on how to see findit@UCL links in PubMed when offsite. PubMed is an index of biomedical literature, including all data from the Medline database from National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the US National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering databases

GEOBASE
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. This database can be accessed by no more than 4 users at a time. Index of literature in the fields of physical and human geography, geology, oceanography, geomechanics, mineralogy, ecology and development studies.
Construction Information Service
Index of standards, regulatory and advisory documents for the UK construction industry plus their full-text images, either scanned facsimiles or in Adobe PDF format.
Landmap
Provides orthorectified satellite image mosaics of Landsat (including Mediterranean), SPOT and ERS radar data and a high resolution Digital Elevation Model for the British Isles.
Structurae: International Database and Gallery of Structures
Information on works of structural engineering, architecture or construction, from the Egyptians and Romans to the present day. Structurae deals mostly with bridges, tunnels, dams, skyscrapers, stadiums, towers, etc.
ASCE Proceedings
ASCE Proceedings provide in-depth coverage of break-through technologies across all disciplines of civil engineering.
DETAIL Inspiration
A research and inspiration source for architects and structural engineers with access to more than 3,600 project documentations from over 30 years of DETAIL.

Electronic and Electrical Engineering databases

ACM Digital Library
See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to ACM Digital Library. Full text of articles published by ACM in the area of computing and information technology. Accessibility statement for ACM Digital Library.
ArXiv.org
ArXiv is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. It covers areas such as physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.
Computing Database (ProQuest)
Covering over 450 titles, dating back to the early 1990's, the database includes full-text from scholarly journals, trade publications and consumer titles. Includes product reviews.
IEEE Xplore
Full text of over 100 publications from IEEE and IEE on electronic and electrical engineering and computer science. Accessibility statement for IEEE Xplore.
Telecommunications Database (ProQuest )
Covering the telecommunications industry and its technology, the database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text.

Financial and company data databases

Financial data

For a full list of all types of financial data accessible to you at UCL, please see our data guide.

fDi Markets
Database of cross border greenfield investments covering all countries and sectors worldwide. Provides access to real-time monitoring of investment projects, capital investment and job creation.
LSEG Workspace (Eikon)
UCL students and staff should contact the e-resources team to request a licence. Licences are initially for 1 week and may be reassigned after this depending on demand. Refinitiv Workspace provides financial and economic data. Coverage includes equities, equity indexes, unit trusts, bonds, interest rates, exchange rates and commodities.
PitchBook
Access is for UCL students and staff only. Add your UCL email address and access via the UCL single sign-on. For any issues, please email support@pitchbook.com. PitchBook provides insight into the flow of capital across the venture capital, private equity and M&A ecosystem with detailed data on the private and public markets—including companies, investors, funds, investments, exits and people
Preqin Pro
Preqin Pro is a comprehensive database focused on Private Capital (Private Equity and Venture Capital) and Real Estate. It provides data about companies and funds, deals, exits, ESG exposure and strategies and Hedge Fund data.
SNL Financial (FIG)
Access for UCL students and staff only. Register via New user sign up, S&P Capital IQ Pro New User on initial use from a UCL computer, Desktop@UCL or the UCL VPN with your UCL email to create a username and password. Change between SNL Financial, Metals & Mining and Real Estate data by changing your ‘Current Profile’ within the ‘User Profile and Display Information’ in your user account. To search all modules, please use the Generalist profile.
Sustainable Views (FT)
Access for UCL students and staff only. Username and password required for login, request this via the Contact the E-Resources Team form. Sustainable Views covers information on developments in ESG policy and regulation, the impact of sustainability metrics on capital markets, and the transition to a green and just economy.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
WRDS provides access to Compustat data. Access is via a WRDS account: select the Register tab, complete the Account Request form to create a username and password and wait for a confirmation access email (this can take a few days).

Company and consumer data

BankFocus
Access for UCL students and staff only, UCL sign in required. Covering global information on over 47,000+ of the world’s public and private banks
FAME
Access for UCL students and staff only, UCL sign in required. Company data on every registered business in the UK and Ireland
IBISWorld
Country specific and Global Industry / Business research reports providing key analysis on performance, industry outlook, markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions and key statistics.
Mintel: UK, China and USA Reports and Mintel Trends
Access for UCL students and staff only. Mintel consumer reports combine exclusive consumer research with trustworthy market data and expert analysis. By tracking trends, analyzing and interpreting consumer behavior, Mintel Trends helps users understand changes in culture, markets and brands
Orbis
Access for UCL students and staff only, UCL sign in required. Bureau van Dijk ’s global database with information on over 450 million public and private companies including, banks, vessels, insurance, and industrial companies covering 220+ countries
Orbis M&A
Access for UCL students and staff only, UCL sign in required. Bureau van Dijk's solution for searching and analyzing intelligence on global mergers and acquisitions, containing M&A, IPO, private equity, and venture capital deals and rumours
Passport
Access for UCL students and staff only, UCL sign in required. Please select 'Institutional login' then choose UCL from the list of institutions. Euromonitor International offers quality international market intelligence on industries, countries and consumers.
Statista
Statista is an online portal for statistics consolidating statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and covering over 170 different industries

Mechanical Engineering databases

OnePetro
Online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry. With contributions from 21 publishing partners and providing access to over 200,000 items

Library Databases

Library databases A-Z
Browse or search our databases by title, or use the Subject drop down box at the top to narrow down to databases in your subject area.

What is a database?

Recommended Subject Guides

This list is not exhaustive. We encourage you to consult other Subject Guides as needed.

The following Subject Guides may be beneficial for your studies in Engineering.

Business, Management, Entrepreneurship and Finance
by Emily Selvidge Last Updated Nov 5, 2024 8781 views this year
Computer Science
by Anna Nunn Last Updated Nov 14, 2024 1347 views this year
Economics
by Kieron Jones Last Updated Nov 1, 2024 2268 views this year
General & Reference Resources
by Lindsay Ure Last Updated Nov 1, 2024 1269 views this year
Mathematics
by Adam John Eades-Miller Last Updated Nov 13, 2024 1097 views this year
Political Science and Public Policy
by Kieron Jones Last Updated Nov 1, 2024 2579 views this year

UCL LIBRARY SERVICES

Engineering

Contents