Library guides and databases: University College Hospital NHS Trust: Library Guide: Databases

Databases

Databases are subject-focused collections of searchable references. For in depth literature searching UCLH staff have access to a wide range of specialist databases.

CINAHL Ultimate
Database covering nursing and allied health research, including more than 50 nursing specialties.

Cochrane
Collection of databases covering controlled trials, systematic reviews, review protocols and more.
Embase
A well-known database for detailed drug information.
EMCARE
Covering all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions Emcare includes international coverage and includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases including more than a thousand journals not covered by Embase.
Global Health
Specialist bibliographic abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health.
Health Management Information Consortium (HMIC)
Covers health service policy, management and administration, with an emphasis on the NHS.
Maternity and Infant Care (MIDIRS)
Specialist database focusing on research and information related to midwifery, pregnancy, neonatal and postnatal care plus related topics
Medline
Index of journal articles from the National Library of Medicine. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
PsycINFO
Index of literature in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Social Policy & Practice
Abstracts of evidence-based social science research for policy-makers, practitioners, educators and students working within economic and social development, social administration, social services, and care management.
Trip Pro Database
A clinical search engine that offers access to a wide range of research evidence, including primary research articles, clinical trials, systematic reviews, and evidence summaries. Grey literature is also available.
Visible body
Visible Body is a 3D interactive anatomy visualization and education tool. The Human Anatomy Atlas modules includes all body systems, gross anatomy, and select microanatomy.

What is a database?

How to search the databases

See our Skills pages for information about searching the databases as well as lots of other resources

How to search the databases

In-library access to UCL databases

NHS library members can use Explore Access Points in UCL libraries to access over 80,000 full-text journals, including key titles in medicine and healthcare.

They also gain access to databases not available via NHS OpenAthens, such as:

Biosis
Scopus
Web of Science

These tools support advanced research and literature searching.

Full information on how to use Explore Access Points