Skip to Main Content
XClose

Library Services

Home

UCL LIBRARY SERVICES

Medicine

A subject guide to library resources for students and staff in the Faculty of Medical Sciences including the UCL Medical School

On this page

On this page you can read about the databases and resources available and of interest to medicine and health.

What are databases? And why use them?

Databases are subject-focused collections of searchable references. They bring together the articles of carefully selected academic journals and provide a platform that allows you to search all of those articles simultaneously. Databases themselves may not contain the full-text of the journal, but UCL's comprehensive journal subscriptions mean you will often have the option to read the full text anyway.

Databases are important tools for ensuring you can systematically and comprehensively survey the literature on a topic area. This is needed for good quality research in any discipline, but most essential in medicine and health because overlooking information could lead to the making of poor clinical decisions, which can cost lives. 

Filing system

Not sure which database to use? Check out the 'Key databases for Medicine' box on this page for a summary of the specific areas they cover. For more detailed help on building searches and using databases, see the 'Literature searching' sub page, also linked below. 

Key databases for Medicine

Evidence-based resources to aid clinical decision making

Multidisciplinary databases