Science, Technology, Engineering and Public Policy (STEaPP)

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to ACM Digital Library. Full text of articles published by ACM in the area of computing and information technology. Accessibility statement for ACM Digital Library.

Containing the leading agricultural journals published in North America, this database consists of around 300 titles, with most of them being available in full-text. Includes the journals: Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation, and Plant Physiology.

Featuring scholarly and learned material with a focus on geoscience, meteorology, climatology, aquatic science, and related disciplines. Coverage includes thousands of full-text publications including peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, reports and video material. Accessibility statement for ProQuest.

Offering access to thousands of full-text publications focusing on Engineering. With a diverse range of materials available, it includes coverage across multiple engineering disciplines and industries, such as biomedical, chemical, civil, computer, electrical, and mechanical engineering. Accessibility statement for ProQuest.

Full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to EBSCOhost. Index of scholarly, government and general-interest publications, covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.

Full text of over 100 publications from IEEE and IEE on electronic and electrical engineering and computer science. Accessibility statement for IEEE Xplore.

Interdisciplinary full-text and A&I collection focusing on materials and materials-related concepts. Coverage crosses multiple specialties in materials science from engineering, nanoscience, construction and ceramics.  Accessibility statement for ProQuest.

Exploring global aging complexities, diverse cultural perspectives, personal narratives, and scholarly insights from 1900 to 2020. This collection features coverage of government approaches, societal attitudes, and key themes, to provide understanding and address the challenges and opportunities associated with an aging population. Accessibility statement for Alexander Street.

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Ovid. This database can be accessed by no more than 4 users at a time. Abstracts of evidence-based social science research for policy-makers, practitioners, educators and students working within economic and social development, social administration, social services, and care management. Incorporates ChildData.

Offering over 1000 titles with the majority full-text. This database covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and features journals from over 50 countries.

Providing access to millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including videos from BBC Worldwide Learning to thousands of podcasts and transcripts from CNN.

ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Accessibility statement for ProQuest Central.

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Scopus. Multi-disciplinary database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Please use IE 8 or higher, Google Chrome or Firefox browsers.

See the LibrarySkills@UCL guide to Web of Science. Defaults to a ‘Core Collection’ search, covering the main Web of Science journals database; select 'All Databases' option from the drop down menu to cross-search all of UCL's subscribed Web of Science products, including Biosis, MEDLINE etc.

Statista is an online portal for statistics consolidating statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and covering over 170 different industries. UCL users do not have access to the Company database or the Global Consumer Survey. The Research AI assistant can provide useful insights into Statista data, but be aware of the limitations of using generative AI for your academic work.

The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. Registration is required if you wish to download, order or analyse data online, where this is possible. Use your UCL username and password.

On access users should follow the link and Browse the site or create an account and Login to to save searches, set email alerts, tags and bookmarks and set up key sources lists. Overton is the world’s largest collection of policy documents, parliamentary transcripts, government guidance and think tank research

Access to millions of pages of curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from thousands of policy organisations including IGOs, NGOs and think tanks from around the world. UCL has access to the full suite of modules which consists of:

• Global Think Tanks : The largest database for public policy, covering reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of IGOs, NGOs, and research centers. Please note that UCL users already had subscribed access to this module
• Public Health and Social Care : Bringing together research, pilot projects, real-world evaluations, newsletters, and collaborative projects from frontline health providers, hospital systems, foundations, patient groups, practitioner communities, governments, think tanks, and other organizations produce
• World Cities and Local Governments
• World Governments : Millions of essential research documents from more than 150 governments around the world, enriched and integrated on a single platform

Please view this short video introducing the platform and features.

Full text of all papers issued by the House of Commons from 1715-present (with supplementary material back to 1688), House of Lords and Public Petitions to Parliament. These are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. Fully searchable digitized images of original documents. Accessibility statement for UK Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest).

Access for UCL students and staff only. Links to Westlaw International and Westlaw US have now been added to the 'Browse by Topic' menu. Users need to register with their name and UCL email address on initial login. Information will be processed by Westlaw in accordance with their privacy policy. Primary/secondary law and current awareness service for UK legal, regulatory and academic markets.